More Memories of Jane Wardwell Roberts

6

February 14, 2015 by Doug Webster

In addition to the many warm comments posted by alumni with the announcement of Jane’s passing,

  • Peter Dustin sent along the following “Farewell to Jane” message and a photo of items Jane had passed along to him when he took over her role as Camp Tripmaster.
  • We’ve also gone through our photo library and included a gallery of shots of Jane taken over the years.
  • And alum Stuart Zimmerman has sent along an artwork he designed in memory of Jane which we are also including here.

Goodbye Jane_Page_1

Goodbye Jane_Page_2

Goodbye Jane_Page_3

 

The artwork from Stuart Zimmerman:

Design by Otter alum Stuart Zimmerman, sent in tribute to Jane.

Design by Otter alum Stuart Zimmerman, sent in tribute to Jane.

And a collection of photos of Jane over the years from our gallery:

68 168 Jane Wardwell Roberts

68 168 Jane Wardwell Roberts

64 4 J Wardwell near Outfitters

64 4 J Wardwell near Outfitters

Camp Otter--Reunion-Pix-Jane

Jane Wardwell Roberts and John Conkling, the earliest camper among all alumni 1944-49

Jane Wardwell Roberts and John Conkling, the earliest camper among all alumni 1944-49

Jim Boguslawski and Jane Wardwell Roberts

Jim Boguslawski and Jane Wardwell Roberts

Jane Wardwell Roberts? and George Baker

Jane Wardwell Roberts Keith Clarke and George Baker

Rachel, Bernie, Jane

Jane (R) with Rachel and Bernie Clarke

Rachel & Jane 1959Rachel Clarke and Jane

Gretchen Himmele Munroe, Jane Wardwell Roberts, Rachel Rogers Clark

Gretchen Himmele Munroe, Jane Wardwell Roberts, Rachel Rogers Clark

John Young, Jane Wardwell Roberts and Emy Young Boag

John Young, Jane Wardwell Roberts and Emy Young Boag

6 thoughts on “More Memories of Jane Wardwell Roberts

  1. Stuart Zimmerman says:

    As a 1958 camp craft instructor myself, I honor Jane’s role for fostering camper’s creative spirit. In a manner like the fun camper’s experienced painting their paddles with personalized designs, I share my love to inspire creative original artisticdevelopment as in my artwork example below.

    • Doug Webster says:

      Stuart: Please try resending your artwork to my e-mail address, as an attachment and I will see if I can get it uploaded. Did not come through cleanly in your original note to me.

      • Stuart Zimmerman says:

        Doug: I have now decided not to associate my intended picture with my above message because the step-wise process for me to manage how to do this is not very straightforward and convenient for me at this time. Thank you very much for the attention you have given to me regarding your possible file transfer solutions to the upload issues involved.. Stuart

      • Stuart Zimmerman says:

        Doug: I once again have decided to include my artwork after the challenges of file size were resolved in followup work. Thanks again Doug. I also hope that the design quality and color depictions help to reflect the true roots of the native Americans that founded this region that we have all enjoyed so much over the years. Stuart.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I went to Camp Otter the last 4 years it was open and I think I’d still be going today if it remained open. It was an amazing place and remains very close to my heart. I am so sorry to hear of Janes passing. She was quite the woman! Strong and secure! I remember her outfitting me and my pack for a 7 day trip… I was soooo proud, the pack was almost as heavy as me, or so it seemed. Jane adjusted the trump strap and I think she gave me some gorp and said ” you can do it” and of course I did… And still do it today! Otter and her people touched us all.

    Sharon McPherson

  3. Dave Duchscherer says:

    Beautifully written, Peter…captures what many of us remember about Jane…

Add Your Own Comments

